Please note that this is a page from a previous version of Continuity Central and is no longer being updated.

To see the latest business continuity news, jobs and information click here.

Business continuity information

Shortlist published for 2011 Business Continuity Awards

CIR Magazine has listed the organizations and individuals that have made the shortlist for May 25th’s Business Continuity Awards.

This year's finalists are:

Business Continuity Manager of the Year
John Gray, business continuity consultant, Hewlett-Packard
Melanie Hewitson, risk and insurance executive, Camelot UK Lotteries
Prashant Mehta, head of business continuity & information security, State Street Syntel Services
Peter Morris, business continuity coordinator, Debenhams
Fred Mundt, vice-president of quality, environmental health and safety, AZ Electronics
Mark Newsome, regional business continuity and disaster recovery manager, EMEA, Northern Trust
Lynsey Pickering, business continuity manager, Steria
John Zeppos, group BCM and ERM deputy director, COSMOTE Mobile Telecommunications

Newcomer of the Year
Khalid Bahabri, head of business continuity management, NCB Capital
Elise Collis, business continuity consultant, RSA
Elizabeth Essex, head of operations, Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity
John Frost, head of business continuity and security, Marks & Spencer
Kim Maclean-Bristol, director, PlanB Consulting

Personality of the Year
Richard Bingley, chief executive officer, CSARN
Mark Newsome, regional business continuity and disaster recovery manager, EMEA, Northern Trust
Stephen Nuttall, head of service continuity, EMEA, Hewlett-Packard

Business Continuity Consultant of the Year
Tim Armit, managing consultant, Clifton Risk Management
Filip De Wolf, CEO, Ascure
Robin Gaddum, business continuity consultant, IBM BC&RS
Richard Jones, principal BCM consultant, SunGard Availability Services (UK) Limited
Charlie Maclean-Bristol, director, PlanB Consulting
Andy Osborne, consultancy director, Acumen Business Services
Werner Verlinden, principal consultant, Ascure
Faye Whitmarsh, managing consultant, PwC

Business Continuity Initiative of the Year
Barclays Global Retail Bank
Business Risk & Resilience XGen
Civil Contingencies Unit, Cumbria Constabulary
COSMOTE Mobile Telecommunications
Vodafone UK

Business Continuity Team of the Year
Barclays Group BCM
Co-operative Group
COSMOTE Mobile Telecommunications
Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity
JP Morgan Chase & Co
Marks & Spencer
Northern Rock
Santander Group

Crisis Strategy of the Year
KPMG Europe
Lloyds Banking Group
Marks & Spencer
SunGard Availability Services

Business Continuity Strategy of the Year
Arsenal Football Club
Co-operative Financial Services
Deutsche Bank
FT Group
JP Morgan Chase & Co
Severn Trent Water
TSL Education
Vodafone Group Technology

Business Continuity Recovery of the Year
Barclays Bank of Egypt
Business Continuity & Home Retail Group
Business Continuity Transport (BCT) & Tui
BELFOR & Royal Mint
Geminare & Lang Michener
JLT Group

Business Continuity Specialist of the Year
Business Continuity
Business Continuity Transport (BCT)
Harwell Restoration
Onyx Group
PlanB Disaster Recovery
Proteus On-Demand Facilities
Steelhenge Consulting

Excellence in Business Continuity in the Insurance Industry
Cooperative Financial Services
Standard Life

Business Continuity Planning Software of the Year
ClearView BCM Software, ClearView Continuity
Dracos, Atos Consulting
Linus Revive, Linus Information Security Solutions
myCOOP Software, COOP Systems
RecoveryPlanner RPX, RecoveryPlanner
PINpoint for BlackBerry, Tenet Computer Group
PlanManagement, Vocal
SunGard CMS, SunGard Availability Services
Shadow-Planner, ICM Continuity Services

Business Continuity Student of the Year
Laurence Clarkin, Coventry University Prior St Coventry
Richard Mapes, Coventry University Prior St Coventry
Peter Wilkinson, Centre for Innovative and Collaborative Construction Engineering

Excellence in Infrastructure Management
SunGard Availability Services

Business Continuity Service Provider of the Year
ICM Continuity Services
SunGard Availability Services

Public Sector Continuity Manager of the Year
Thomas Croall, corporate business continuity manager, Manchester City Council
Mike Harris, head of business continuity management team, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
Steve Lambert, emergency planning business continuity lead officer, Liverpool City Council
James McAlister, business continuity manager, Merseyside Police
Dan Occhini, business continuity coordinator, Kent Police

Most Innovative Product of the Year
Double-Take Availability, Vision Solutions
Emergency Office, ICM Continuity Services
HP Wynyard Data Centre, Hewlett-Packard
Recover Anywhere, SunGard Availability Services
Testing & Exercising Service, Clifton Risk Management
VirBizCo Office, Techgate
Browse-IT, ChangeBASE
Cloud Recovery, Geminare
maxView, Maxava

Most Innovative Solution of the Year
Bamboo, Deloitte
CloudCover from virtualDCS
DataSafe, Core Consultancy
onQ Business Continuity Appliance, QuorumLabs
Power Monitoring, Spook
PINpoint for BlackBerry, Tenet Computer Group

The Business Continuity Awards recognise excellence within the field of business continuity and operational risk management and will be presented at a Gala Dinner, which will be held in London at the Park Lane Hilton.


•Date: 31st March 2011 • Region: UK •Type: Article •Topic: BC general

Business Continuity Newsletter Sign up for Continuity Briefing, our weekly roundup of business continuity news. For news as it happens, subscribe to Continuity Central on Twitter.

How to advertise How to advertise on Continuity Central.

To submit news stories to Continuity Central, e-mail the editor.

Want an RSS newsfeed for your website? Click here